PDA

View Full Version : '93 F-150 build

Pages : [1] 2 3

Sparling
02-05-2010, 10:12 PM
I have a '93 F-150 4x4 that i want to build up. Right now, my truck is stock height with 33" BFG all terrains. My end goal is about 6 inches of lift with lots of suspension travel. I'm going to try to do a SAS this summer with a D44 from a 70's f-series and keep it coil springs up front. For the rear I've heard of flipping the rear shackle or replacing the rear shackle with another front shackle. I'm pretty new to the whole offroad community so i need help deciding what the best route would be to get lots of travel from the set up.

BroncoJo
02-05-2010, 10:23 PM
probably something like this but not so tall: http://www.tamor.org/forums/showthread.php?t=9676

Ideally something like this: http://www.tamor.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1890&highlight=swamp

These would be ideal axle's for a budget, but this is a "how not to build something" Thread : http://www.tamor.org/forums/showthread.php?t=9672

Basically the best advice is to read through many different build threads and then decide how you want to start your build.

Oh and search noob :flipoff2:

stx4wheeler
02-05-2010, 10:56 PM
Questions to ask yourself before this build starts

1. Is it a daily driver

2. What kind of terrain are you planning on doing

3. What size tire do you wanna run.

4. Do you really need an sas. I think way to many people jump on the sas bandwagon just because they read something on fullsize bronco, when they probably have been better off staying with ttb. Krazykarl on here has done stuff to ttb that would make Tommy the intern engineer at ford gawk at the awesomeness of his lunch time creation. Also you can drop a lot of money into a Dana 44 sas and at the end of a day it is still a Dana 44.