PDA

View Full Version : Carb Tech

Rex
02-07-2003, 12:21 AM
I finally got my carb running right after i rebuilt it. Here's an important tip, always replace EVERY SINGLE gasket and o-ring. My truck was running horribly because i didn't replace a couple of little o-rings that went on a metal tube passageway for the accelerator pump and it was right above the powervalve. Well those o-rings weren't sealing good and it was putting a lot of extra fuel in the powervalve and it caused a HUGE gas cloud behind me and a very rough idle with raw fuel coming out. So learn from my mistake and if anyone needs help rebuilding a holley, i have a lot of experience at taking one apart now. :flipoff2:

BMFScout
02-07-2003, 02:28 AM
**** holley, q-jet is the way to go, unless of course you have the bux to pony up for a fi setup, c'mon may...

J Cooper
02-07-2003, 02:33 AM
come help me re-build my holley 2 barr. untill i get my holley truck avenger.... **** G-JET:flipoff2:

Jackasic
02-07-2003, 07:37 AM
yea, **** Q-jet real men drive Holleys. BTW, they are much easyer to rebuild that a Q-jet.

I'm waiting on the new Barry Grant Off Road Deamon. that thing is going to rock.

AgDieseler
02-07-2003, 12:05 PM
All I have to say is Holley 750 Demon.

robertf03
02-07-2003, 12:26 PM
yeah maybe if your building a car

i dont see how you can beat a quadrajet without going to fuel injection. And I think most of those companies building "off road" carbs are building them to take bumps, not run at a 60* incline.

q-jets are everywhere. I went to pick and pull looking for a motorcraft 2100 carb, they were all taken, but just about every chevy still has the qjet under the hood.

but I'll stick with my 2barrel mc2100 on the Jeep and Truck for now until I get around to TBI.

Rex
02-07-2003, 01:05 PM
My truck is just a tow rig, so the holley works fine, but for offroad, zenith carb all the way :D

fbronco86
02-08-2003, 12:42 PM