PDA

View Full Version : Engine swap 302 or 351?

JB
09-16-2002, 12:57 PM
I have just about pulled my motor out and am not really sure what I should do. I think that rebuilding it myself would be harder and more expensive that simply purchasing a reman long block. What do you think?

If I decided to go up from the EFI 302 to a EFI 351, what all would need to change? Would I need a different computer for the 351? and would all the plugs and wiring harness and crap work with the 351? motor mounts are the same right?

If you were going to purchase a reman 302, does it come with a cam and crank? If not, what would be good ones to buy?

What is the difference in speed density and mass air?

What it the difference in the fuel injection between Broncos and the older 5.0 Stangs?

I am really trying to learn here as I have never done an engine swap before. I just want a semi-reliable, smooth running motor. Its does not need gob and gobs of HP, but a little extra would be nice. I guess what I am asking is , what would you do if you had a choice between the 302 and 351, keeping in mind money is a factor.(I can use the 302 as a core and save)

Chadnutz
09-16-2002, 03:50 PM
If I were you I would rebuild the motor. It will take you more time, but you will learn a lot about engines themselves. You will also save money. It would be good to have a friend that has done it before to guide you. Reman motors are built quickly and cheaply. When you rebuild it yourself you can be sure that it was done correctly. The tools are all cheap except the torque wrenches.

Nutz

Krawler68
09-16-2002, 04:45 PM
Go with a ford motorsports GT-40 motor... pretty sweet setup really...you can convert to mustange SEFI fuel injection at the same time... **** rebuilding it... Nutz still wonders if he did everything right and it's almost 2 years after he rebuilt it the first time...

robertf03
09-16-2002, 07:41 PM