PDA

View Full Version : Body Work and Job

Seth
10-22-2002, 03:58 PM
I got the parts to repair my truck over the weekend. New fender, headlight, hood, and filler/stonedeflector/valence (they called it all three at some point in time) for a grand total of 270 bucks.

Problem number one is that I have no experience doing body work at all. So if anyone has any suggestions, experience, or could lend me a hand at any point in time, it would be greatly appreciated and some form of small payment could prob be arranged.

Problem number 2 is that the parts are maroon and my truck is white. I want to paint them and have a few alternatives. I coudl paint them before they are even ever on the body or I could put them on and paint them then. I could spray the whole truck with a cheap maaco job but I really don't see that happening. So does anyone have a spray gun that could help me spray these parts? Jimmy? I also have a friend back home that might be able to help me out if it comes down to it. I can drive a kustom 2 tone til Thanksgiving. ***.

Lastly, I need to get the headlight fixed pretty soon as I have been pulled over for it 3 times so far.

Also I need to pull the pipe bumper out some more. So far I have thought of hooking a chain against something and pulling with the truck, or using a highlift between the truck and something solid. Anyone have any other ideas that I am not thinking of at all?

Thanks
Seth

uglyota
10-22-2002, 05:43 PM
First of all, do you have to do any actual body work, or just get your new parts to bolt on and line up?
I've bashed on sh!t with a hammer until the bolt holes lined up, but that's about it. I would definitely paint everything BEFORE putting it on to keep rust at bay (primer won't stop rust indefinitely). I can probably borrow a paint gun thisweekend if you want (My rig needs a 'little' painting as well...when you see it you'll understand).
Cheap paint jobs don't last long. Wait until you run into a hook-up and have it done right.