Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice on a Boat Radio

Like my rock crawler? KrazyKarl02's Avatar

Advice on a Boat Radio

Many of you have seen the Crouch Family Boat, but for those that have not, it is a 17' bay boat (Scout 172 Dorado). I use the boat for fishing, skiing, and drinking. There has always been one problem with the boat, no radio!

I would like to fix this by adding a radio. I do not want some frat daddy 12" sub woofer system, just something to listen to music while fishing and cruising.

I am cheap, so I found on ebay, systems like this "Pyle". I have no experience with Pyle, so would like any advice people can offer with respect to marine radios.

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-MARINE-BOAT-...QQcmdZViewItem

I was thinking of putting it in an enclosure under the dash like this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/PYLE-PLMRCW3-Mar...QQcmdZViewItem

What about speakers??? What is a decent brand of marine speakers? This boat is kept outside on a trailer. So not in the water, but I want something that canhold up to rain.
    Last edited by KrazyKarl02; 07-09-2008 at 08:01 PM.
    -Karl
    2006 Chevy K3500 4X4 - No J.B. Weld on it yet!
    1982 thru 94 F-Series "The Klogger" AKA Transport on the road, on the trail, or on the trailer!
    1965 Chevelle
    1975 Corvette

The inclosure work pretty good if you have a head unit all ready. Also I don't think marine speakers are needed, I've always had good luck with regular speakers in some sort of water resistant box.
    Born to Kill

Quote Originally Posted by RCcola55 View Post
    I just watched a spider dominate a fly on the wall outside, i thought would would travis do? and i did the opposite, spider lives!