Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: levelling a diesel Excursion's suspension

levelling a diesel Excursion's suspension

My brother has a diesel Excursion that he drives A LOT. He's not very vehicle savvy and noticed that it was starting to feel like it was bottoming out, but didn't think much of it. Turns out the two-leaf pack in the front has inverted from the weight of a Powerstroke and a full replacement Ranch Hand and it looks like the shocks I just put on it for him are sitting at nearly full compression at ride height.

He asked about a small lift when the grill guard went on, but I didn't think much of it. Now it apparently needs some sort of levelling kit or a small lift. He asked me about re-arching the springs, but I've never done anything like that before and the place I called said they could rearch them and add another leaf in for ~$300.

I've been looking around on 4 Wheel Parts' website... I figured that was the easiest place to compare a lot of different manufacturers. It seems that Superlift and ProComp have what he would be interested in.

Superlift makes a 3" front/1.5" rear kit that replaces the front springs and give blocks in the rear.

ProComp has 2" front springs and a rear add-a-leaf.

I haven't called National Spring, but they don't have a website that I could find and I need to get to class before I get too concerned about this.

Does anyone have some personal or close experience with either Superlift or ProComp leaf springs for larger/heavier trucks? I need to figure something out soon, and it has to be able to hold up to a lot of road driving and whatever abuse a dirt road can throw at it.

AgDieseler
    My Superlift springs were very rough. There weren't any teflon slider, and they started to invert.

I can't speak to Pro Comp personally, but if it's like the rest of their line, then he may be less than impressed.